KAE4-HA

Spring Business Meeting

April 21, 2022

Atchison, KS

President Kaitlyn Peine called the meeting to order at 8:00 am.

Gregg Hadley and Rick Peterson provided administrative updates via Zoom with information about the 4-H Leadership team and director search. Jake Worcester provided a 4-H Foundation update including meeting KSU President Linton who "gets it; he gets the value of 4-H to our state". Jake also reiterated the availability of innovation grants and his hope for Extension agents to see the 4-H Foundation as an internal partner in trying new things and the "freedom to fail".

Thirty-three members signed in and roll call was answered by your favorite part of spring.

Robyn Trussel moved, with second by Sarah Maass, to approve the October 2021 minutes as provided.

Officer Reports

President - Kaitlyn Peine reported on the Extension Leaders Conference (ELC)

President Elect – John Jobe – no report

Past President – Lindsey Mueting – reported on her experience at PILD and the need to "tell our story" and be ready to talk to anyone at any time about the work Extension does

Secretary – Jenny McDaniel – no report

Treasurer – Ginger Kopfer – provided a Treasury Report as of 4.1.2022 and reviewed the transaction report. See attached.

Newsletter Editor – Jennifer Terrell – not available

Public Relations – Michelle Beran – reported that membership flyer has been updated and, with much appreciated assistance from Beth Hinshaw, most of the website is updated. Michelle has been trained on CMS and will continue to look for areas to update.

Area Director Reports

NE – currently vacant and the NE area will select a new director. Sonya Murphy reported new agents Grace Wiens (Shawnee Co), Jessica Lawrenz (Johnson Co), Macy Hynek (River Valley District), and Adam Lessor (Reno Co)

NW – Robyn Trussel reported that Regional Specialist interviews have been scheduled for May 5. The NW has several option positions including Cottonwood 4-H/Cottonwood FCW (opening 5.4), WCD Logan Co 4-H program manager, Thomas Co FCW, GPD Horticulture.

SE – Cheri Nelson provided report for Anne Pitts.

SW – Amy Sollock updated on open positions to include Comanche Co Ag, Meade Co Ag and FCS, Kearny Co Ag, Pawnee Co FCS, and Wild West District – Ag/4-H. New agents are Jim Borgerding (Ag Kiowa), and Kelly Askew (Kiowa FCS).

State – Amy provided update from Aliah Mestrovich Seay

NAE4-HYDP – Regional Director Kathleen Bohde provided a brief update via Zoom.

Committee Chair Reports - Business

Membership – Ginger Kopfer provided an update on the current membership numbers.

Nominating – Lindsey Mueting provided an update from the nominating committee for the slate of officers

Budget – Ginger Kopfer reviewed the budget recommendation

Annual Conference – Jill Martinson provided an update which included a the focus on KSRE administrative initiates and a request for break-out session proposals; she is advocating for time for PFT meetings on Thursday with a potential opportunity for a tour of Hale Library. At this point, there is not much agent representation. The dates are set for Oct. 18-20-2022. Amy Sollock suggested looking at an opportunity for "meet and greets" with academic partners.

Committee Chair Reports – Standing

4-H Day with Wildcat Women – Daniel Skucius

Diversity – Jessie Carr reported that the adult bullying program that had been proposed for the spring meeting was replaced due to the program development speakers; they would like to continue to pursue this training. The committee will connect and plan for additional opportunities to support staff diversity work and DEI challenges.

Policy and Resolution – Patsy Maddy reported that the updated Policy and Bylaws have been provided to Michelle Beran for posting to the website. Michelle confirmed that the updated Bylaws have been posted. Additionally, a recommendation has been made to update the newsletter editor and public relations descriptions and roles in the bylaws to align with current needs of social media and communication.

Programs – Robyn Trussel reported that KAE4-HA will host Clover Night during KSRE Annual Conference. Any suggestions are welcome.

Professional Development – John Jobe/Sonya Murphy

Member Recognition – Cheri Nelson presented awards as follows:

Peer Professional Development – Ginger Kopfer, Shane Potter, Beth Hinshaw, Patsy Maddy, Susan Schlichting, Gretchen Sassenrath

Workforce Development Award - Lindsey Mueting, Sarah Maass

4-H Club Support Award – Cheri Nelson

ASA (Achievement in Service Award) - Will Morris, Nora Rhoades

DSA (Distinguished Service Award) - Wade Weber, Cheri Nelson

MSA (Meritorious Service Award) – Robyn Trussel

Research and Evaluation – Anne Pitts did not have a report.

Old Business – there was no old business

New Business

Treasurer's Report – motion by Jill Martinson; second by Cheri Nelson to approve as presented; motion carried

Committee Reports – motion by Patsy Maddy; second by Jessica Flory to approve as presented; motion carried

Committee Action – motion by Jill Martinson; second by Beth Hinshaw to approve the 2022-2023 budget as presented; motion carried

Election of Officers

President Elect – Patsy Maddy and Anne Pitts were nominated; motion by Cheri Nelson with second by Ginger Kopfer to cease nominations; motion carried. Anne Pitts was selected by ballot.

Secretary – Wendy Hughes and Will Morris were nominated; motion by Jessica Flory with second by Sarah Maass to cease nominations; motion carried. Will Morris was selected by ballot.

Newsletter Editor – Robyn Trussel was nominated; motion by Anne Pitts with second by Sarah Maass to cease nominations and cast unanimous ballot for Robyn; motion carried. KS JCEP (2 year term) – Nora Rhoades, Patsy Maddy, and Wendy Hughes were nominated; motion by Cheri Nelson with second by Ginger Kopfer to cease nominations; motion carried. Patsy Maddy was selected by ballot.

Past President – with Kaitlyn Peine's role change from 4-H, Sarah Maass will serve in the past president role for the upcoming year.

Announcements

2022 NAE4-HYDP Conference to be held Oct. 11-13 in Madison WI

2022 KSRE Annual Conference to be held Oct. 18-20

ESP Conference Sept. 26-29 in Branson MO and there are scholarship available.

Members in attendance include: Kaitlyn Peine, Michelle Beran, Will Morris, Cheri Nelson, Carrie Lance, Anne Pitts, Nicole Biery, Lindsey Mueting, Jessie Carr, Alexandria Ware, Diane Mack, Sarah Maass, Adam Lesser, Ginger Kopfer, Jill Martinson, Cassidy Lutz, John Jobe, Beth Hinshaw, Sonya Murphy, Macy Hynek, Jessica Flory, Jo Hetrick-Anstaett, Karla Hightower, Marcia Gier, Patsy Maddy, Robyn Trussel, Daniel Skucius, Corrine Patterson, Amy Sollock, Kelsey Nordyke, Grace Wiens, Jessica Lawrenz, Nickie Harding