1. K-State home
  2. »Research and Extension
  3. »Agent Associations
  4. »Kansas Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences
  5. »Awards

Agent Associations


KEAFCS members have the opportunity to apply for state and national awards. The state deadline for 2019 NEAFCS Award applications is Friday, February 8. Committee members will review and send to the appropriate next step.


Kansas Awards

Click on this link to be directed to more information about state awards: The Scholarships / Friend of FCS and First Timers Awards 


National Awards 

General Information

  • All information for awards is on the NEAFCS Awards Page
  • Log in on the NEAFCS Page and you be directed to create an Awards Account that is separate from the NEAFCS Account.  This is required to complete the online application. 
  • While applying online, you will be ask to select your state and region.  Kansas is in the Central Region. 
  • DSA and CE have special requirements, see this page for details on these awards.
  • The following are the general steps to applying for any award:   

Steps to Apply

  1. Review various links on the NEAFCS Awards Page. Start with reviewing awards available in the Awards Manual or Awards at a Glance.
  2. Once you have selected the award, review the requirements in the Awards Manual.
  3. Complete online application.  It is best to use an outline format that addresses each of the required elements in the order listed in the award description. 
  4. Include an action photo that supports the award.  The national winners will be displayed. 
  5. Write a 30 word summary of the application.  This will be used in the awards booklet for national winners.
  6. Complete online application section which includes a 30 word summary. 
  7. Send an e-mail to Kylie Ludwig to notify that you have uploaded materials.


Award Categories 

Professional Development Awards
  1. Distinguished Service Award
  2. Continued Excellence Award
  3. Extension Educator of the Year Award
  4. New Professional Award
  5. NEAFCS Greenwood Frysinger Fellowship 
Program Awards
  1. Florence Hall Award
  2. Dean Don Felker Financial Management Award
  3. Mary W. Wells Memorial Diversity Award
  4. Program Excellence through Research Award
  5. Early Childhood Child Care Training Award
  6. Food Safety Award
  7. Community Partnership Award
  8. Extension Housing Outreach Award
  9. Clean and Healthy Families & Communities Award
  10. Family Health & Wellness
  11. Environmental Education Award
  12. Human Development/Family Relationships Award
  13. School Wellness Award
  14. Social Media Education 
  15. Social Media Education - Video Award
  16. SNAPED/EFNEP Educational Program Award
  17. Excellence in Multi State Collaboration Award
  18. Master Family & Consumer Sciences Volunteer Award
  19. Excellence in Teamwork Award
Communications/Public Affairs Awards
  1. Newsletters
  2. Written Press Release
  3. Radio/Podcast
  4. Television/Video
  5. Educational Technology
  6. Educational Curriculum Package
  7. Educational Publications
  8. Photography
  9. Internet Education Technology
  10. Marketing Package Award




Award Deadlines

Award Applications and Letters of Nomination must be submitted by

January 15.


First Timers, Friend of FCS, and Scholarships - State Only Awards  -- Due on May 15.