1. K-State home
  2. »Research and Extension
  3. »News
  4. »News Stories
  5. »2015
  6. »May
  7. »Kansas 4-H Announces State Project Winners

K-State Research and Extension News

Kansas 4-H Announces State Project Winners

State awardees earn invitation to National 4-H Congress.

Photos available - May 29 afternoon

4-H State Project WinnersMay 21, 2015

MANHATTAN, Kan. – The Kansas 4-H Youth Development Program has named the 2015 State 4-H Project Winners.

The project winners represent 4-H at its best, according to Barbara Stone, assistant director, K-State Research and Extension, and state leader, Kansas 4-H.

"These young people represent Kansas 4-H Youth Development and highlight the essence of 4-H – setting goals, gaining knowledge, learning and mastering new skills, and sharing that knowledge with others. Their achievements demonstrate the impact that 4-H has on preparing young people to make a positive impact in their communities and the world," she said.

The awards will be presented at the 4-H Emerald Circle Banquet, in Manhattan on May 28.

The projects are designed to explore a variety of interests, but also reflect three core competencies integrated into 4-H programs:

  • Science, engineering and technology;
  • Citizenship, leadership and service, and
  • Healthy living.

"The 4-H project experience is an enjoyable and positive way for youth to spend out of school time. In addition, youth learn valuable life skills as well as about hobbies and prospective career choices," said Kylie Dicket, Kansas 4-H project manager.

Twenty-nine 4-H members were selected for the state awards, which are based on work completed the previous year. Project award recipients are listed in order by hometown, followed by the recipient's name. local extension unit and project area.

Abilene: Dustin Wilson, Dickinson County, Energy Management

Abilene: Rogan Tokach, Dickinson County, Self-Determined

Berryton: Tamara McConnell, Shawnee County, Clothing

Cambridge: Brayden Krepps, Cowley County, Horse

Canton: Kaylee Littrell, McPherson County, Food and Nutrition

Canton: Ethan Dailey, Marion County, Visual Arts

Effingham: Amber Kelly, Atchison County, Leadership

Ellinwood: Cody Wondra, Barton County, Swine

Emporia: Maddie Simmons, Lyon County, Reading

Formoso: Janelle Railsback Spiegel, Post Rock District – Mankato, Alumni

Hill City: Tucker Eckols, Graham County, Poultry

Kanorado: Dani Mangus, Sunflower District – Goodland, Meat Goats

Leoti: Kelsie Conard, Wichita,Photography

Logan: Kayla Hoffaker, Phillips-Rooks District – Phillipsbug, Performing Arts

Louisburg: Madelynn Yalowitz, Marais des Cygnes District – Paola, Rabbits

McPherson: Taylor Goering, McPherson County, Beef

McPherson: Christine Vasper, McPherson County, Geology

McPherson: Reed Hunter Wiens, McPherson County, Wildlife

Meriden: Tana Pearson, Meadowlark District – Oskaloosa, Shooting Sports

Osklaloosa: Ashley Nelson, Meadowlark District, Citizenship

Prairie Village: Zoe Nason, Johnson County, Family Studies

Princeton: Cade Hibdon, Frontier District – Ottawa, Sheep

Pratt: Katie Buhler, Pratt County, Fiber Arts

Rush Center: Traci Ross, Walnut Creek District - LaCrosse, SpaceTech

Salina: Shaylee Arpin, Central Kansas District – Salina, Communications

Salina: Hannah Henry, Central Kansas District – Salina, Home Environment

St. John: Greyson Collins, Stafford County, Plant Science

Udall: Francis Rupp, Cowley County, Dairy

Wakarusa: Amanda Miller, Shawnee County, Dog

Each of the state award recipients earns a commemorative project medallion and an invitation to National 4-H Congress, which, will be held in Atlanta, Georgia, Nov. 27 - Dec. 1. Winners also receive a $400 travel scholarship from the Kansas 4-H Foundation toward expenses in attending congress, which is a professional development conference for youth.

More information about Kansas 4-H and the educational opportunities it offers to youth ages seven and up is available on 4-H Youth Development and at each of K-State Research and Extension's county and district offices.


K-State Research and Extension is a short name for the Kansas State University Agricultural Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service, a program designed to generate and distribute useful knowledge for the well-being of Kansans. Supported by county, state, federal and private funds, the program has county Extension offices, experiment fields, area Extension offices and regional research centers statewide. Its headquarters is on the K-State campus, Manhattan.

Story by: Elaine Edwards
K-State Research & Extension News

Kylie Dicket, kylied@ksu.edu