1. K-State home
  2. »Research and Extension
  3. »News
  4. »News Stories
  5. »2015
  6. »May
  7. »Kansas 4-H to Award Scholarships to 64 Students

K-State Research and Extension News

Kansas 4-H to Award Scholarships to 64 Students

4-H helps students succeed in higher education.

Photos available - May 29 afternoon

4-H ScholarshipsMay 21, 2015

MANHATTAN, Kan. – The Kansas 4-H Foundation has selected 64 students to share more than $59,000 in scholarships, rewarding them for their dedication and leadership as Kansas 4-H members.

The scholarships fund post-secondary education during the 2015-16 academic year and will be awarded at the 2015 Emerald Circle Banquet, May 28, in Manhattan.

"Assisting our 4-H members in pursuit of higher education, where they will apply the skills and knowledge gained through 4-H, is a privilege and honor for our donors. We couldn't be more pleased to award scholarships to these deserving young men and women," said Jake Worchester, president of the foundation.

Scholarship recipients are 4-H members selected through an annual application and review process. Applications are judged with emphasis on 4-H leadership, citizenship and involvement. Many of the scholarship donors are former 4-H members.

2015-16 Kansas 4-H Foundation scholarships are listed by the recipient's hometown, followed by the scholarship recipient's name, local extension unit, and donor:

Abilene: Christina Hoffman, Dickinson, Mandy and Joseph Kern
Atla Vista: April Ascher, Riley, Frank W. and Gwen Romine Jordan
Auburn: Luke Garrison, Shawnee, Master Farmer-Farm Homemaker 4-H
Axtell: Audrey Schmitz, Marshall, Glenn M. and Rosemary Busset
Axtell: Tricia Schmitz, Marshall, Marceil Gradwohl 4-H
Axtell: Tracy Schmitz, Marshall, Winter Family Grants
Baileyville: Tyler Deters, Meadowlark, Kansas Association of Wheatgrowers
Berryton: Kelsey Wulfkuhle, Douglas, Roscoe M. and Winona M. Starkey
Brewster: Layton Werth, Thomas, Nathan Carrol Memorial
Brookville: Collyn Fouard, Central Kansas, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H
Bucyrus: Sara Guetterman, Johnson, Roy B. and Elizabeth Curry Oyer
Burrton: Blake Foraker, Sedgwick, Frank W. and Gwen Romine Jordan
Chapman: Kyler Langvardt, Geary, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H
Clifton: Blade Winter, River Valley, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H
Colby: Sarah Lamm, Thomas, Pierre C. Henry
Dodge City: Rachel Robertson, Ford, June Beaver 4-H
Effingham: Bridgett Kelly, Atchison, John Junior and Ula Armstrong
Emporia: Arissa Moyer, Lyon, June Beaver 4-H
Emporia: Sarah Moyer, Lyon, William G. and Marita Jean (Spiers) Willis
Fredonia: Leah Kimzey, Wilson, June Beaver 4-H
Garden City: Linda Bilberry, Finney, A.B. Mahieu
Hartford: Brianna Zweimiller, Lyon, Extension -Step Ahead - SE
Holcomb: Ashley Mongeau, Finney, Clara L. Dubbs 4-H
Hoyt: MaRyka Smith, Meadowlark, Elmer and Mary Schlagel Pelton Family
Humboldt: Anna Setter, Southwind - Iola, Mary Lou Gibbs
Hutchinson: Thomas Fink, Reno, Jack and Lindy Lindquist 4-H Youth Council Leadership
Junction City: Marissa Muto, Geary M. H. Coe Memorial
Lawrence: Karen Schneck, Douglas, Frank W. and Gwen Romine Jordan
Lawrence: Ryal Mitchell, Douglas, Ross and Marianna Beach Foundation Endowed
Leavenworth: Leah Parsons, Leavenworth, Extension Step Ahead - NE
Lenexa: Josh Gregory, Johnson, Kansas 4-H Youth Development Department
Lenexa: Julia Shields, Johnson, Warren L. and Mabel Johnson and Ann Johnson Sparke 4-H
Madison: Samuel Davis, Greenwood, John L. Wilson Memorial
Manhattan: Anna Jackson, Riley, Frank W. and Gwen Romine Jordan
Manhattan: Chase Reed, Cowley, Cecil and Merle Eyestone
McLouth: Carl Hecht, Leavenworth, Roger E. Regnier
McPherson: Michael McKinney, McPherson, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H
Meade: Jacqueline Clawson, Meade, Donald E. Leu
Meriden: Boyd Roenne, Meadowlark, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H
Meriden: Jennifer McNary, Meadowlark, Frank W. and Gwen Romine Jordan
Olathe: Megan McLaughlin, Johnson, June Beaver 4-H
Olathe: Niccole Miller, Marais des Cygnes, Goppert Southeast Kansas
Onaga: Mitchell Duer, Pottawatomie, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H
Oskaloosa: Ashley Nelson, Meadowlark, Andrew J. Clawson Memorial 4-H
Phillipsburg: Justin Turner, Phillips Rooks, Douglas F. & Linda Beech Educational
Pratt: Austin Black, Pratt, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H
Pratt: Taylor DeWeese, Pratt, J. Harold and LaVerne Johnson
Ransom: Marta Payne, Walnut Creek, Allan and Carolyn Harms Family
Rozel: Megan Milch, Pawnee, Extension - Step Ahead - SW
Rush Center: Traci Ross, Walnut Creek, J. Clifton and Helen F. Ramsey
Salina: Shaylee Arpin, Central Kansas, Donald E. Leu
Salina: Justin Schmutz, Central Kansas, Gary and Lorraine Kilgore 4-H
Salina: Zoe Woolsoncroft, Central Kansas, Frances W. Dunbar Memorial 4-H
Shawnee: Michaela Mense, Johnson, A. Lois Redman 4-H
Spring Hill: Brenna Ewing, Johnson, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H
Spring Hill: Tessa Davids, Marais des Cygnes, Goppert Southeast Kansas
Tescott: Evan Morrical, Central Kansas, Georgia Wertzberger
Topeka: Antonio Ramonda-Pruitt, Shawnee, Ross E. and Margaret Colman Wulfkuhle
Ulysses: Mercedes Rodriguez, Grant, Mary E. Border
Valley Center: Jill Seiler, Sedgwick, Thomas Potter II 4-H
Wallace: Chanity Daily, Sunflower, Extension Step Ahead - NW
Wamego: Annette Trieb, Riley, John C. Carter Memorial
Washington: Gabryelle Gilliam, River Valley, Oscar W. Norby
Wichita: Jameson Jones, Sedgwick, Winter Family Grants


K-State Research and Extension is a short name for the Kansas State University Agricultural Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service, a program designed to generate and distribute useful knowledge for the well-being of Kansans. Supported by county, state, federal and private funds, the program has county Extension offices, experiment fields, area Extension offices and regional research centers statewide. Its headquarters is on the K-State campus, Manhattan.

Story by: Elaine Edwards
K-State Research & Extension News

Rhonda Atkinson – ratkinson@ksu.edu